top of page

DIY Horror Makeup On A Budget

Do you ever want to create some scary looks for Halloween or a Photoshoot? Don't really want to spend an arm and a leg on a ton of special effects makeup? Well then I have a few tips you can use just like I do. The image on the left is my friend Holly from a 2014 shoot. I didn't have much and this shoot was impromtu and was planned in about 15 minutes flat on my behalf.

What Was Used

  • Flour

  • Eyeliner

  • Fake Blood

  • Liquid School Glue

  • Old Toothbrush

You ever see the pictures of ccracked paint on the faces in many different style photos? Well I didn't have paint I could use so I got the idea of "Maybe glue and flour will do the same thing." Well it did, kind of. I put the glue all over my friends face (Elmer's is best and safe) and then I had the pleasure of throwing handfuls of flour at her face! (It is best to do this outside as flour ends up EVERYWHERE and it would just be unlogical to do it inside the house or a photo studio.) After the glue and flour dried to kind of this weird crust, I smeared eyeliner all around her eyes and blended with a damp sponge. Now comes the second best part of this makeup the blood. I took an old toothbrush and dipped it into a dixie cup that had fake blood in it. (This tends to be a little tricky but you will get the hang of it) Using my finger I held the toothbrush lengthwise and used my finger in a quick upwards motion along the bristles and this causes the blood to splatter. Move closer for bigger drops and further back for small drops. Add a blood capsule to your mouth for a bloodier effect and bam, you have a spooky, bloody, cracked face that can be anything! A decaying zombie? Sure. Rotting painter? Cool. Be creative and remember your house holds a lot of things to make DIY gory horror looks for any number of purposes.

Don't have fake blood? No problem. Check out this link for many different recipes to make fake blood.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page